Lessons in Life: Fear of Flying

Image Courtesy of canstockphoto.com

 

The first time I could remember being on a plane, I mean really remember being on a plane was going to see my friend in Florida. Perhaps it’s the fact that I was on a plane by myself that sticks out. Well next to me was a little boy, couldn’t be more than 5 or 6. He was with his grandma and she fell asleep. Long story short the little boy never flew on a plane before. He wanted to hold my hand, and truth be told I wanted to hold his. I was petrified but we decided we would open the window half way and watch outside. We would face our fear to fly— together.

As a result, even though I am not a fan of heights, I love to fly now. I can actually look out the window and every time before take off, right after I silently pray, I take a moment to think of that little boy. One fear conquered, a couple more to go.

My boyfriend, bless his heart, has seen me in my proudest moments thus far. Not only are they my proudest but also they are usually linked to what I consider the scariest (on a purely personal level). They are my proudest moments simply because I chose to let go…I choose to fly. I didn’t care if I wasn’t the best, if I moved at my own pace, didn’t care about judgment. I faced the fear, MY fears. I cried—twice to be exact.

The weirdest feeling…a release of fear mixed with adrenaline and excitement, happiness to the point of giddiness, accomplishment but most importantly no regrets.

Be in the moment, TRULY just live it and be immersed in it.

I feel like I missed some moments but for whatever reason, I feel that’s neither here nor there. Happiness is a choice, deciding to be brave, to be fearless, that is a choice. And I choose to make new memories and make up for some I should have had in the past. While it’s the most simplistic things that are making me cheerful as I have said before, “most importantly no regrets. ” You always have to try…don’t be so afraid you don’t try. Not if it’s important to you. Not if it’s something deep down you know you want. Some of the greatest moments in history are made from the most fearless and bold acts. The first step is believing, the second is to let go, to fly…

Fly, fly, fly……

 

I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly

R. Kelly- “I believe I can Fly”

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

